SAN BERNARDINO

COUNTY
PRESCHOOL SERVICES DEPARTMENT
VOLUNTEER (NON-PAID STAFF) APPLICATION

**In order to process your volunteer application in a timely manner, please complete it thoroughly. Print,
sign, date, and email as an attachment to the Preschool Services Department’s VVolunteer Coordinator.

[IParent VVolunteer [1Unpaid Intern LIApprentice L1 Class Observer

Programs: (Please select ONE only)

[IHead Start [IEarly Head Start [IEarly Head Start Child Care Partnership
Date:

Name: Assigned Site:

Home Address:

Home Phone Number: Mobile Phone Number:

Gender: Email Address:

Ethnicity: [1American Indian or Alaskan Native [1Asian [1Black/African American C1Native Hawaiian or Pacific
Islander C1White [IBiracial/Multi-racial C1Other

Highest Education Level:
Emergency Contact Information:
Name: Relationship:

Home Phone Number: Mobile Phone Number:

For Office Use Only

Fingerprinting/Background Check/Family Watchdog Date:
TB Clearance Date:

Immunization Clearance Date:
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SAN BERNARDINO

COUNTY
PRESCHOOL SERVICES DEPARTMENT
VOLUNTEER (NON-PAID STAFF) APPLICATION (CONT.)

For Parent VVolunteer Only

Site Name: Site Supervisor Name:
Anticipated Start Date: Number of Weekly Hours:

Volunteer Signature & Date:

Site Supervisor Signature & Date:

Volunteer Coordinator Signature & Date:

For Unpaid Intern Only

School Name: Program/Major:
Site Name: Site Supervisor Name:
Anticipated Start and End Dates: Number of Weekly Hours:

Volunteer Signature & Date:

Volunteer Coordinator Signature & Date:

Program Manager Signature & Date:

For Apprentice Only

Apprentice Program: [Center Clerk [JCenter Custodian [JFood Service Worker [JTeacher Aide
Site Name: Site Supervisor Name:
Anticipated Start and End Dates: Number of Weekly Hours:

Apprentice Signature & Date:

Apprentice Coordinator Signature & Date:

Program Manager Signature & Date:

Revised 09.06.2018



SAN BERNARDINO

COUNTY

PRESCHOOL SERVICES DEPARTMENT

VOLUNTEER (NON-PAID STAFF) APPLICATION (CONT.)

For Classroom Observer Only

Site Name:

Anticipated Start and End Dates:

Supervisor Name:

Number of Weekly Hours:

Classroom Observer Signature & Date:

Volunteer Coordinator Signature & Date:

Site Supervisor Signature & Date:

Revised 09.06.2018



SAN BERNARDINO

COUNTY

Preschool Services Department
Volunteer Application Checklist

(To be used for Parent Volunteer, Unpaid Intern, Apprentice &
Classroom Observer)

Please submit the following documents along with your volunteer application. Be sure to fill out the application
thoroughly and do not include your social security number. Be sure to include your name and birthday on all
immunization documents (all pages).

NOTE: Your application will be deemed incomplete, until all of the following documents are received.

Required:

[JCopy of a valid government issued photo ID (California Driver’s License/California Identification Card)

[IProof of Tuberculosis clearance (must be within the last 12 months, chest x-ray must be within the last 4
years)

(1 Proof of Pertussis (TDAP) vaccination
[IProof of Measles (MMR) vaccination or a waiver if you were born on or before 1957
[IProof of annual Influenza vaccination (must be within the last 12 months) or a signed waiver

Optional:

[IStatement Acknowledging Requirement to Report Child Abuse (Note: Volunteers are not mandated by the
California State law to report child abuse but are strongly encouraged to do so. Please see site supervisor or any
PSD staff for assistance when needed.)
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SAN BERNARDINO

COUNTY

Preschool Services Department

Annual Influenza Declaration

1, , certify that I am declining the annual influenza vaccination.

Print Name and Employee I1D# (if applicable)

Click here to enter a date.

Signature Date

Revised 09.06.2018



SAN BERNARDINO

COUNTY

Preschool Services Department

Measles Declaration

I, , certify that | was born before 1957.

Print Name and Employee ID# (if applicable)

Signature Date

- Revised 09.06.2018



STATE OF CALIFORNIA—HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

STATEMENT ACKNOWLEDGING REQUIREMENT TO REPORT CHILD ABUSE
NOTE: RETAIN IN EMPLOYEE/LICENSEE FILE

NAME
Click here to enter text.

POSITION FACILITY NUMBER

Click here to enter text.

California law REQUIRES certain persons to report known or suspected child abuse. As a licensee or an employee
at a licensed facility or a child care institution, YOU are one of those persons - a "mandated reporter."

PERSONS WHO ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT ABUSE

Mandated reporters include a licensee, an administrator, or an employee of a licensed community care or child
day care facility. [Penal Code ("PC") § 11165.7(a)(10)] Mandated reporters also include an employee of a child
care institution, including, but not limited to, foster parents, group home personnel, and personnel of residential
care facilities. [PC § 11165.7(a)(14)] No supervisor or administrator may impede or inhibit an individual's reporting
duties or subject the mandated reporter to any sanction for making the report. [PC 8§ 11166(h)]

WHEN REPORTING ABUSE IS REQUIRED

A mandated reporter, who in his or her professional capacity, or within the scope of his or her employment,
has knowledge of or observes a person under the age of 18 years whom he or she knows or reasonably suspects
has been the victim of child abuse or neglect must report the suspected incident. The reporter must contact a
designated agency immediately or as soon as practically possible by telephone, and shall prepare and send a
written report within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident. [PC § 11166(a)]

ABUSE THAT MUST BE REPORTED

Physical injury inflicted by other than accidental means on a child. [PC 8 11165.6]

Sexual abuse meaning sexual assault or sexual exploitation of a child. [PC § 11165.1]

Neglect meaning the negligent treatment, lack of treatment, or the maltreatment of a child by a person responsible
for the child's welfare under circumstances indicating harm or threatened harm to the child's health or welfare. [PC §
11165.2]

Willful harming or injuring or endangering a child meaning a situation in which any person inflicts, or willfully
causes or permits a child to suffer, unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering, or causes or permits a child be

placed in a situation in which the child or child's health is endangered. [PC § 11165.3]

Unlawful corporal punishment or injury willfully inflicted upon a child and resulting in a traumatic condition. [PC
§11165.4]
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WHERE TO CALL IN AND SEND THE WRITTEN ABUSE REPORT

Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect must be made to any police department or sheriff's
department (not including a school district police or security department), county probation department, if
designated by the county to receive mandated reports, or the county welfare department. [PC § 11165.9] The
written report must include the information described in Penal Code section 11167(a) and may be submitted on
form SS 8572.

IMMUNITY AND CONFIDENTIALITY OF REPORTER AND OF ABUSE REPORTS

Persons legally mandated to report suspected child abuse have immunity from criminal or civil liability for
reporting as required or authorized by law. [PC § 11172(a)] The identity of a mandated reporter is confidential
and disclosed only among agencies receiving or investigating reports, and other designated agencies. [PC §

11167(d)(1)] Reports are confidential and may be disclosed only to specified persons and agencies. Any
violation of confidentiality is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment, fine, or both. [PC § 11167.5(a)-(b)]

PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT ABUSE

A mandated reporter who fails to make a required report is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to six
months in jail, a fine of $1000, or both. [PC § 11166(b)]

COPY OF THE LAW

Prior to my employment in a licensed community care or child day care facility, or child care institution, my
employer provided me with a copy of Penal Code sections 11165.7, 11166, and 11167. [PC § 11166.5(a)]

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF RESPONSIBLITY

I, Click here to enter text., have knowledge of my responsibility to report known or suspected child abuse in
compliance with Penal Code section 11166. [PC § 11166.5(a)]

SIGNATURE pate Click here to enter text.
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